Haagen Dazs

 

 

 

January 13, 2018

Haagen Dazs, Washington, DC

C218225D-AB3E-4213-A192-3148CDDE70FCopen all year

This is a special year – the 10th anniversary of Haagen Dazs Peppermint Bark Ice Cream!  Since I love Haagen Dazs Peppermint Bark sundaes, and it is such a special time,  I went with my the tried and true today.  I was not disappointed.  I still love CA23DEC5-C87A-4897-8145-8B32765CE0812C4A7701-2D6B-46D3-8F85-6D9041BF6F55Peppermint bark sundaes.

We spent a cold day walking around Washington DC, and were “chilled to the bone” when we walked into the Haagen Dazs shop, the warmth felt good.   Our server was was quite friendly, and seemed to be having fun scooping ice cream and making 890D0EFC-1325-4109-AD49-554BC465EF831F3067DE-47D0-4A70-AAB3-650600EFAFE4sundaes.  When we were chatting, she 1A97A305-8630-4486-8863-73BCE9116B7Cconfided to me that this was just a job to pay her way through school – I am sure she will be a very successful teacher some day. She made me a great sundae – Haagen Dazs places toppings after each scoop so they are throughout the sundae.  Really yummy!

The shop opened up into an indoor mall with tables and umbrellas, all we needed was a sun to complete the tropical scene.  I was glad that there was a warm, comfortable place to enjoy our ice cream.

in the area:  Washington DC has so much to do – so many museums and memorials – it was hard to select what to do.

 

Our first stop was at the National Postal Museum – if anyone was not impressed by the USPS before a stop here, they will be after it.   There is no conceivable way mail could be delivered that they have not utilized – train, bus, boat, horse (did anyone believe the ‘Pony Express’ used ponies?), dog sled, snow shoes, bare feet.  They had a machine we could try to sort mail by zip code like the ones initially used by clerks – most of the mail I sorted would have gone to the wrong place (and the actual clerks had to work ten times that fast!).  There were exhibits showing how the modern postal service delivers over 150 MILLION pieces of mail a day  – fascinating!

We stopped at the Building Museum which I found quite dull and lacking creativity  – a waste of time and money.  Kudos to their advertising agency!

Our next stop was the International Spy Museum – also fascinating.  My spy identity was as a 50 year old molecular biologist visiting Germany under the cover of obtaining grant money,   Spies like me are very resourceful and there is nothing I won’t use as a dead drop , signaling mechanism or weapon.  There was so much to see here one could actually spend a couple of days exploring.  I would never make it as James Bond!

 

 

The National Portrait Gallery  was a wonderful surprise – my art knowledge and appreciation rivals that of your average baboon.  Yet I really enjoyed this place.  There were portraits of each president with a short description of their presidency and info on the painter.  I was totally captivated!  We also went through other interesting galleries including one on people at work.

Leave a comment